In most circumstances you may apply for a marriage license (Actually titled: Certificate Of Marriage) at the any town clerk's office. You do not have to be married in the same town from which you obtain your license.
The marriage license fee is $50.00 dollars as set by RSA 457:29
The fee for a certified copy is $15.00 dollars as set by RSA 457:29
The applicants shall supply to the clerk, prior to the issuance of the marriage license, the following documents: proof of age; a certified copy of a death certificate of a former spouse, if applicant is widowed; a certified copy of a final divorce decree, if the applicant is divorced; a certified copy of an annulment decree, if the applicant's previous marriage was annulled.
None. You do not have to be a previous or current resident of New Hampshire to obtain a marriage license that is valid statewide.
No. You can get married the same day.
A male or female that has reached the age of 18 can marry without parental permission. A female between the age of 13 and 17 years and a male between the age of 14 and 17 years can be married only with the permission of their parent (guardian) and a waiver. A female below the age of 13 and a male below the age of 14 are not allowed to marry under any condition.
The above laws on age apply to NH residents or to non-residents who desire to marry NH residents. If both parties are non-residents and are below the age of 18 they cannot be married in NH under any condition.
No blood test or physical exam is required.
In New Hampshire your license will expire 90 days from the date it is issued.
After you are married, I complete the "Officiant" section of the license and return it, in person or by certified mail, to the Town Clerk who issued it. If I have your email address, I will email you a copy of the certified mail receipt so you can track online, at the Postal Service website, the day when the town clerk receives your license back. Then you can request a certified copy. To get a certified copy, you must request it in person or by mail.
No, marriage by proxy is not allowed.
Marriage is not permitted in NH between people who are related by blood as first cousins or in any more direct lineage.
Beginning January 2010, the oxymoron of same sex "marriages" became a reality in New Hampshire by statutorily redefining marriage; thus circumventing the traditional, historical and physiological definition of marriage as well as the the will of the people. Many will view these same sex marriages as faux "marriages" reasoning that calling an apple an orange makes the apple an orange in name only.
Please be aware that I'm not an attorney and the above information is not intended to be construed as legal advice. The information above was current on the day that it was included on this website. You are urged to verify all information with your local government entity responsible for issuing marriage licenses in the area where you live.